Three new NUS Board Members appointed

30 Mar 2020, NUS News

Three new members will be inducted into the NUS Board of Trustees come 1 April — corporate veteran Ms Chew Gek Khim; experienced banker Ms Jeanette Wong; and renowned academic Professor Timothy L. Killeen.

Ms Chew Gek Khim is Chairman of The Straits Trading Company Limited. She is also Executive Chairman of Tecity Group, and Chairman of Malaysia Smelting Corporation Berhad and ARA Trust Management (Suntec) Limited, and Deputy Chairman of Tan Chin Tuan Foundation. An NUS alumna and lawyer by training, Ms Chew was awarded the Chevalier de l’Ordre National du Mérite in 2010, the Singapore Businessman of the Year Award in 2014 and 2015, and the Meritorious Service Medal at the National Day Awards in 2016.

Members of the Board of Trustees are appointed by the Minister for Education. The Board is made up of eminent leaders from academia, the public service and private sector, and works with the University’s management and stakeholders to define NUS’ vision and collectively shape its future.